I Tried Cinnamon For A While

Photo by Alex Knight on Unsplash

I Tried Cinnamon For A While

·

2 min read

Introduction

I have been using Linux for over a year now and I'm still trying to find THE desktop environment/window manager for me. I've tried many including (but not limited to):

  • KDE

  • Gnome

  • Deepin

  • Budgie

  • I3

  • BSPWM

  • Qtile

  • Awesome

  • Unity

    and many others.

I saw a video a couple of weeks ago by The Linux Cast about Cinnamon and I thought,

"Hmmm, never tried Cinnamon, let's give it a go"

So I did.

Cinnamon

Cinnamon is a Desktop Environment developed by the Linux Mint team. It offers a panel at the bottom which has a menu, app switcher and a basic sys tray. Cinnamon has a load of community developed applets called Spices which can add functionality and features that are not default.

Experience

I spent a week or two running Cinnamon and it's definitely got potential, 100%. But I am of course going to try others before I say for certain that this may be THE desktop environment for me.

  • The customisation is decent, not as good as KDE and WM but not as bad as Gnome.

  • Settings are easy to find and easy to understand.

  • Decent default panel and settings.

Conclusion

This Desktop Environment may be THE ONE for me, but I'll have to wait till I try others before I crown this the one.